Oxbow Kazoo, John Olson

Oxbow Kazoo

John Olson

Publisher: First Intensity Press
PubDate: 2/1/2005
ISBN: 9781889960104
Price: $12.00
Quantity Available: 28
Pages: 64

Poetry. "Nature makes leaps; history makes leaps; and the poetry of John Olson makes leaps. The series is exponential: Olson's rejuvenation of realism follows the nonlinear lightening-path between world and word. Here, the simplest ingredients interact to produce unprecedented complexities, global cloud-systems of passion and insight. Fed into this vortex, everyday verities are quickly accelerated to the velocity of the Marvelous. The Olsonian sentence is an explosion fixe sparked by uncanny coincidence, a speech-act spinning like an unknown home, making infinity fit for human habitation."—Andrew Joron

Author City: SEATTLE, WA USA

John Olson is the author of eight books of poetry and prose poetry, including Larynx Galaxy; Backscatter: New and Selected Work; THE NIGHT I DROPPED SHAKESPEARE ON THE CAT; OXBOW KAZOO; FREE STREAM VELOCITY; ECHO REGIME; Eggs & Mirrors; Logo Lagoon; and Swarm of Edges. He has also published three novels: SOULS OF WIND, which was shortlisted for a Believer Book of the Year Award in 2008; The Nothing That Is; and THE SEEING MACHINE. Some of his articles and essays have appeared in The Stranger and Seattle Weekly.

Reviews and Other Links
author blog
Steve Potter @ Galatea Resurrects

New Arrivals

Hafez: Translations and Interpretations of the Ghazals
Hafez and Geoffrey Squires

Stop Wanting
Lizzie Harris

Arrow through the Axes
Patrick Bowman

The Little Trilogy
Anton Chekhov

Sentence: A Journal of Prose Poetics No. 10
Brian Johnson, Editor

Soul Seeds: Revelations & Drawings
Carolyn Mary Kleefeld