Memory Cards: 2010-2011 Series, Susan M Schultz

Memory Cards: 2010-2011 Series

Susan M Schultz

Publisher: Singing Horse Press
PubDate: 12/6/2011
ISBN: 9780935162462
Price: $15.00
Quantity Available: 41
Pages: 124
SKU #: J05F

Poetry. Susan M. Schultz's MEMORY CARDS—prose poems composed to fit on an index card, each beginning with a randomly chosen line from a book by the poet for whom each of the nine sections is named—generates an astonishing form for infecting the lyric with the political and the political with the lyric. In MEMORY CARDS, Schultz "uses her formidable skills as a lyric poet to re-inscribe the testimony of the victims of modernity's incessant erasure of ordinary lives, Hawaiian, white, Asian, other. MEMORY CARDS records our protest against the apparent cruelty of divided life, and with little sentimentality restores empathy, the near-forgotten conscience of a humanistic ideal."—Adam Aitken, author of Eighth Habitation


Susan M. Schultz is a poet, critic, and publisher who lives in Kane`ohe, Hawai`i on the island of O`ahu. She is author of ADDENDA (Meow Press, 1998), ALEATORY ALLEGORIES (Salt Publishing, 2000), MEMORY CARDS AND ADOPTION PAPERS (Potes & Poets Press, 2001), And Then Something Happened (Salt Publishing, 2004), No Guns, No Durian (Tinfish Press, 2004), A Poetics of Impasse in Modern and Contemporary American Poetry (University of Alabama Press, 2005), DEMENTIA BLOG (Singing Horse Press, 2008), MEMORY CARDS: 2010-2011 SERIES (Singing Horse Press, 2011) and "SHE'S WELCOME TO HER DISEASE" [DEMENTIA BLOG, VOLUME TWO] (Singing Horse Press, 2013); and she edited The Tribe of John: Ashbery and Contemporary Poetry (University of Alabama Press, 1995). She edits Tinfish Press and teaches at the University of Hawai`i-Manoa.

Reviews and Other Links
Eileen Tabios @ Galatea Resurrects #20
author blog
Joseph Harrington @ Tarpaulin Sky Reviews

New Arrivals

Hook: A Memoir
Randall Horton

Into that Heaven of Freedom
Mohamed M. Keshavjee

Flashes of Life
Micah Ling

The Too-Brief Chronicle of Judah Lowe
Christopher Carter Sanderson

W. Mark Giles

Frayed Opus for Strings & Wind Instruments
Ulrikka S. Gernes