Envelope of Night: Selected and Uncollected Poems, 1966-1990, Michael Burkard

Envelope of Night: Selected and Uncollected Poems, 1966-1990

Michael Burkard

Publisher: Nightboat Books
PubDate: 1/1/2008
ISBN: 9780976718567
Price: $19.95
Quantity Available: 7
Pages: 382
SKU #: N13D

Poetry. ENVELOPE OF NIGHT: SELECTED AND UNCOLLECTED POEMS offers an essential record of the literary achievements of Michael Burkard from 1966 to 1990. This selection offers Burkard aficionados and those new to his work an opportunity to encounter what Ashbery has praised as Burkard's "urgent messages from a distant galaxy." It features an insightful foreword by the author, generous selections from five early books (the out-of-print collections In a White Light, Ruby for Grief, The Fires They Kept, Fictions from the Self and None, River) and "A Thief in the Lamp," a compelling, book-length section of previously unpublished poems that provides crucial insight into the trajectory of the development of Burkard's work. According to poet-critic Ethan Paquin, Burkard's poems "break from reality and American lyrical status quo to offer timeless, elegant revelations." This is a definitive volume of a major American writer and a dazzling litmus of the range of the poetic mind.


Michael Burkard is the author of ten previous collections of poetry, including LUCKY COAT ANYWHERE and ENVELOPE OF NIGHT: SELECTED AND UNCOLLECTED POEMS, 1966-1990. He has received numerous awards, including a Whiting Award and the Alice Fay di Castagnola Award. He teaches at Syracuse University.

Reviews and Other Links
Andy Frazee @ The Kenyon Review