Trust, Liz Waldner


Liz Waldner

Publisher: Cleveland State University Poetry Center
PubDate: 3/2/2009
ISBN: 9781880834848
Price: $15.95
Quantity Available: 37
Pages: 69
SKU #: L11E

Poetry. Our senses entrust to us the world that the heart minds, and so gives us a point of view, the "sight we hope to see through (to) / Always." Deeply attentive to form and music, each of these poems, written between the early eighties and mid-nineties, serves as a trust for the mending of that sense of separateness. Ever the stranger in yet another strange place-in subway and orchard, ER and library, cemetery and classroom-they ask: "What is the shape /" of the story? "Who is mindful of me?" and sometimes answer: "Thank you, I have enjoyed / imagining all this."


Liz Waldner graduated at 28 from St. John's College, Santa Fe and Annapolis, with a BA in Philosophy. After an MFA from the University of Iowa, where she also studied in the Art Department, she received a Regent's Fellowship to the Ph.D. program in Communication at the University of California San Diego, where she investigated the role of global media and capitalism in shaping women's sense of self and world. She is the author of eight previous poetry collections. Her second book won the Academy of American Poets' Laughlin Prize and the Iowa Prize; others were published as winners of the Contemporary Poetry Series, the Beatrice Hawley Award, and the Cleveland State University Poetry Prize. She has received multiple artists' grants; been a Fellow at the MacDowell Colony, Djerassi, Centrum, and the VT Studio Center, among others; and has taught at various colleges and universities, including Bard, Tufts, Millsaps and the University of Iowa. 

Reviews and Other Links
Lori A. May at Gently Read Literature
Stephen Burt at The Believer
Lisbeth Cheever-Gessaman at CommonLine
Eileen Tabios at Galatea Resurrects
Christina Mengert at The Constant Critic

New Arrivals

Some Versions of the Ice
Adam Tipps Weinstein

there are boxes and there is wanting
Tessa Micaela Landreau-Grasmuck

You Won't Need That
Robert Gregory

Outer Pradesh
Nathaniel Mackey

Christine Gelineau

Selected Poems & Poetic Series
Thomas Fink