About SPD

When you buy a book from Small Press Distribution, you don't just get something terrific to read: you help independent publishers and writers keep more money from their projects, which in turn helps nurture and sustain the literary arts as a whole.

Because we're a nonprofit, everything we do is aimed at helping essential but underrepresented literary communities participate fully in the marketplace and in the culture at large. We do this by offering book distribution, information services, and public advocacy programs to hundreds of small publishers.

Buy a book from SPD, enjoy a great read, and support the literary community!

At SPD, we connect readers with writers through independently published literature. Founded in 1969, SPD is currently the only distributor in the country dedicated exclusively to independently published literature.

For more SPD history click here for the SPD Fact Sheet.

Small Press Distribution
1341 Seventh Street
Berkeley, CA 94710-1409
(510) 524-1668
(800) 869-7553
spd@spdbooks.org

Board Members

Juliana Spahr (Board President), Mills College / A'A Arts Press
Jonathan Fernandez (Board Treasurer), Rasputin Records / Blondies Pizza / Bear Basics
Alan Bernheimer (Board Secretary), Communications Executive, Ret.
David Rothenberg, Mother Jones
Rena Rosenwasser, Kelsey Street Press
Michael Morgan, Morgan & Claypool Publishers
Ethan Nosowsky, Graywolf Press
Andrew Day, Failbetter.com / Citrix Systems
Cecil S. Giscombe, University of California, Berkeley / Mixed Blood Journal
Estee Schwartz
Andrew Maxwell

Staff

Jeffrey Lependorf, Executive Director, jlependorf@clmp.org
Laura Moriarty, Deputy Director, laura@spdbooks.org
Brent Cunningham, Operations Director, brent@spdbooks.org
Nicole Trigg, Sales & Marketing Manager, nicole@spdbooks.org
Andrew Pai, Business Manager, andrew@spdbooks.org
John Sakkis, Warehouse Manager, john@spdbooks.org
Sean Collins, Accounts Manager, sean@spdbooks.org
Julia Neises, Warehouse Assistant, julia@spdbooks.org
Janice Worthen, Warehouse Assistant, janice@spdbooks.org
Johnny Hernandez, Customer Service Associate, johnny@spdbooks.org

Staff Bios

Articles, Media and PR

You Can Help Keep Literature Independent! Become a Friend of SPD.

SPD is the only wholesaler in the country dedicated exclusively to independently published literature. We take risks on exciting new writers, enabling their work to develop an audience and gain recognition in the marketplace.

To become a Friend of SPD, click here, choose your membership level and pay with your Visa or Mastercard during checkout. Membership is good for one year.

We are proud to acknowledge major funding from the following:

Walter & Elise Haas Fund
The James Irvine Foundattion
Marin Community Foundation
National Endowment for the Arts
The San Francisco Foundation

Volunteer Opportunities

If you are interested in a fall semester, winter/spring semester, or summer volunteership at SPD, please contact John Sakkis at john@spdbooks.org.  Volunteers assist in all aspects of SPD publications, sales & marketing, development and operations. We generally ask for approximately 4 hours a week from volunteers. Volunteerships are unpaid.


For more information, contact spd@spdbooks.org , or call (510) 524-1668

New Arrivals

Two Faint Lines in the Violet
Lissa Kiernan

The Open Secret
Jennifer Moxley

Afterletters
R Kolewe

Panic Cure: Poetry from Spain for the 21st Century
Forrest Gander, Editor & Translator

Surfacing: Contemporary Croatian Poetry
Branko Cegec and Mario Susko, Editors

Long Way Back to the End
Paul B Roth