Author: Gaspar Orozco

Gaspar Orozco was born in Chihuahua, Mexico in 1971. He was a member of the punk rock band Revolución X in the 1990s and co–director of the 2011 documentary film Subterraneans: Mexican Norteñ Music in New York. His books of poetry include Abrir fuego (Mexico City: Tierra Adentro, 2000), El silencio de lo que cae (Mexico City: Programa Editorial de la Coordinación de Humanidades, UNAM, 2000), Notas del país de Z (bilingual, translation by Mark Weiss) (Chihuahua: Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua, 2009), Astrodiario (El Paso: Bagatela, 2010), Autocinema (Mexico City: Conaculta 2010), Plegarias a la Reina Mosca (Monterrey: Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, 2011), and, in collaboration with the artist Jairus, Game of Mirrors, an interactive e–book with English and Chinese translations. His work is featured in several poetry anthologies and has been published in literary publications in Mexico, the United States and the United Kingdom. He has translated poetry from English, French and classical Chinese into Spanish. A career diplomat, he has served in New York, and at the Mexican Consulate in Los Angeles, as Consul for Community Affairs. He currently lives in New York.

Add to Shopping Cart 9781946104007
76 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $17.00 12/15/2016


Chax Press

Poetry. Latino/Latina Studies. Art. Translated by Mark Weiss."With each new book of Orozco's one exclaims: 'Why didn't I think of that?' Each book unique among his oeuvre, and unique within the body of contemporary Mexican poetry. Its procession of ...

Learn More...

Sign up for SPD e-newsletters