Author: Olja Savicevic

Olja Savičević is a poet and novelist from Split, Croatia. Her first poetry collection, It Will Be Tremendous When I Grow Up, was published in 1988, when she was fourteen. Since then she has published five other books of poems: Eternal Kids (1993); Female Manuscripts (1999); Puzzlerojc (2005); House Rules (2007), winner of the prestigious Croatian award Kiklop; and MAMASAFARI (2012, 2018). She is also the author of a short story collection To Make a Dog Laugh (2006), which won a Croatian prize for the best fiction writer under thirty-five, as well as two novels, Adios, Cowboy (2010) and Night Singer (2016). Both of her novels were awarded the best Croatian novel by the periodical T-portal, while Night Singer also won the Croatian Libar za Vajk (Forever Book) award. Two of Savičević's short stories have been adapted into short films, while her novel Adios, Cowboy, was adapted for stage. Her work has been included in a number of Croatian and international anthologies, including Best European Fiction 2014 (Dalkey Archive) and Surfacing: Contemporary Croatian Poetry (Harbor Mountain Press, 2014), and it has been translated into more than 20 languages. MAMASAFARI is the first book-length collection of her poetry in English.

Add to Shopping Cart 9781944884383
PAPERBACK $16.95 6/1/2018


Dialogos / Lavender Ink

Poetry. Translated by Andrea Jurjević. This collection by poet, novelist and dramatist Olja Savičević, one of Croatia's most important contemporary voices, is the first of her books of poetry to be translated into English, following the critical acc...

Learn More...

Sign up for SPD e-newsletters