MENU

Author: Will Alexander

In the tradition of Sun Ra and Aime Cesaire, Will Alexander's poetry combines the surreal with an extra-terrestrial perspective on the relation of humans to mind and the cosmic environment. His perspective emerges from Africa and the Earth's trans-oceanic rim. He is also a poet, essayist, novelis, philosopher, visual artist, as well as playwright. His myriad books include Vertical Rainbow Climber (1987), Asia & Haiti (1995), Above the Human Nerve Domain (1998), TOWARDS THE PRIMEVAL LIGHTNING FIELD (Litmus Press, 1999), Exobiology as Goddess (2004), Sunrise Armageddon (2006), and The Sri Lankan Loxodrome (2009). His latest book is AT NIGHT ON THE SUN (Chax Press, 2017). A Whiting Fellow, a PEN Oakland National Book Award recipient, and the winner of the Jackson Poetry Prize for 2016. Will Alexander lives and works in Los Angeles.

At Night on the Sun
Add to Shopping Cart 9781946104090
38 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $18.00 12/1/2017

At Night on the Sun

Chax Press

Poetry. Drama. African & African American Studies. "The new powerful play by Will Alexander, AT NIGHT ON THE SUN, seems to be the beginning of a new phase in his work as a playwright. After his four earlier plays, that have been collected as INSIDE ...

Learn More...

Compression & Purity
Add to Shopping Cart 9780872865419
2 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $13.95 4/1/2011

Compression & Purity

City Lights Publishers

Poetry. African American Studies. Few poets writing today can compare with L.A.-based surrealist Will Alexander in terms of the intensity of his imagination or his radically experimental approach to language as material object. Through the use of au...

Learn More...

Inside the Earthquake Palace: 4 Plays
Add to Shopping Cart 9780925904898
9 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $18.00 9/15/2011

Inside the Earthquake Palace: 4 Plays

Chax Press

Drama. Poetry. African American Studies. "Will Alexander's poetic universe could be a 1 + 1000 surface ('folded-in expanse') imbedded in a 1 + 1000 + X dimensional Historical Space-Time (the 'transverse'), with Ancient-Future Language particles and ...

Learn More...

Mirach Speaks to His Grammatical Transparents
Add to Shopping Cart 9780578084459
18 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $10.95 10/4/2011

Mirach Speaks to His Grammatical Transparents

Oyster Moon Press

Literary Nonfiction. African American Studies. MIRACH SPEAKS TO HIS GRAMMATICAL TRANSPARENTS is a philosophical meditation vertically scripted. It is an extension of Alexander's first book in this mode, TOWARDS THE PRIMEVAL LIGHTNING FIELD. Both boo...

Learn More...

Singing in Magnetic Hoofbeat: Essays, Prose Texts, Interviews and a Lecture 1991-2007
Add to Shopping Cart 9780979118975
125 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $16.95 12/31/2012

Singing in Magnetic Hoofbeat: Essays, Prose Texts, Interviews and a Lecture 1991-2007

Essay Press

Literary Nonfiction. African American Studies. Edited and with an Introduction by Taylor Brady. Afterword by Andrew Joron. One of the most prolific and original figures in the field of contemporary literature, Will Alexander is known worldwide for h...

Learn More...

Towards the Primeval Lightning Field

This product is temporarily out of stock

9781933959207
0 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $15.00 12/1/2014

Towards the Primeval Lightning Field

Litmus Press

Poetry. African American Studies. Philosophy. Essays. Now available as a second edition with a new preface from the author, Will Alexander's TOWARDS THE PRIMEVAL LIGHTNING FIELD (O Books, 1998) is a work of "vertical philosophy" revealing the strata...

Learn More...

 
Sign up for SPD e-newsletters