Author: Larry Fagin (Author) and Miles Champion (Editor)

Larry Fagin was born in New York City, and grew up in New York, Hollywood, and Europe. He began associating with poets and writers in 1957, meeting David Meltzer in Los Angeles, and Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs, and Gregory Corso two years later in Paris. In 1962 he became part of the circle of poets around Jack Spicer in San Francisco, and befriended Michael McClure, Philip Whalen, and Robert Duncan. At the end of 1965 he traveled to London where he lived for two years and met his first wife, the fashion designer Joan Inglis. They moved to New York together in 1967, and Fagin began editing Adventures in Poetry magazine and books, which featured most of the poets of the New York School. In 1975, with the dancer Barbara Dilley, Fagin cofounded Danspace, the dance program at St. Mark's Church in-the-Bowery; he was its artistic director for five years. Simultaneously, he taught writing at the Poetry Project at St. Mark's and in 1976 joined the faculty of the Summer Writing Program at Naropa Institute in Boulder, Colorado. At Naropa, he met the writer Susan Noel, whom he married in 1980. In 2000, with Boston publisher Cris Mattison, he revived the Adventures in Poetry imprint; he also began editing and publishing Sal Mimeo magazine. Fagin's many books include PEACHES & GRAVY: SELECTED POEMS 1966- 2016 (Cuneiform Press, 2020), Parade of the Caterpillars, Twelve Poems, Brain Damage, Rhymes of a Jerk, Seven Poems, I'll Be Seeing You: Poems 1962-1976, The List Poem, Dig & Delve (with Trevor Winkfield), COMPLETE FRAGMENTS (Cuneiform Press, 2012), LIKE MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS (with John Sarsgard) (Broadstone Books, 2014), and Eleven Poems for Philip Guston. He died in New York City on May 27, 2017.

Peaches & Gravy: Selected Poems 1966-2016
Add to Shopping Cart 9781950055098
8 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $22.00 11/1/2020

Peaches & Gravy: Selected Poems 1966-2016

Cuneiform Press

Poetry. Art. Edited by Miles Champion. PEACHES & GRAVY: SELECTED POEMS 1966-2016 is the first wide-ranging selection of Larry Fagin's work to be published since his selected early poems, I'll Be Seeing You: Poems 1962–1976. Edited with an introducti...

Learn More...

Sign up for SPD e-newsletters