MENU

Author: Louis Armand

Louis Armand is a writer and visual artist who has lived in Prague since 1994. He has worked as an editor and publisher, and as a subtitles technician at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival, and is an editor of VLAK magazine. He is the author of eight novels, including Breakfast at Midnight in 2012, "a perfect modern noir, presenting Kafka's Prague as a bleak, monochrome singularity of darkness, despair and edgy, dry existentialist hardboil" (Richard Marshall, 3:AM), CAIRO (Equus Press, 2014; short listed for the Guardian's Not-the-Booker Prize), and THE COMBINATIONS (Equus Press, 2016). Described as "Robert Pinget does Canetti (in drag in Yugoslavia)," Armand's third novel Clair Obscur was published by Equus in 2011. His previous novel, Menudo (Antigen), was hailed as "unrelenting, a flying wedge, an encyclopaedia of the wasteland, an uzi assault pumping desolation lead... inspiring!" (Thor Garcia, author of The News Clown). He's also the author of VIDEOLOGY 1 and 2 (Litteraria Pragensia Books, 2015 and 2017)

Cairo
Add to Shopping Cart 9780957121379
20 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $18.00 1/31/2014

Cairo

Equus Press

Fiction. Drama. Art. What do a crashed satellite, a string of bizarre murders and a time-warp conspiracy have in common? Welcome to CAIRO, where the future's just a game and you're already dead. "A genre defying anti-novel... Like communism it is th...

Learn More...

The Combinations
Add to Shopping Cart 9780957121362
28 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $22.00 5/4/2016

The Combinations

Equus Press

Fiction. Drama. Art. Shortlisted for The Guardian's 2016 Not the Booker prize. The "European anti-novel" in all its unrepentant glory is here in THE COMBINATIONS, following in the tradition of Sterne, Rabelais, Cervantes, Joyce, Perec. In 8 octaves...

Learn More...

VIDEOLOGY 1
Add to Shopping Cart 9788073085896
10 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $15.00 12/1/2015

VIDEOLOGY 1

Litteraria Pragensia Books

Literary Nonfiction. Film. Art. VIDEOLOGY is Louis Armand's broad- ranging critique of realism in film, visual arts and literature. From Nam June Paik's experimental TV to the subversive cinema of Alejandro Jodorowsky, Miike Takashi and Leos Carax; ...

Learn More...

Videology 2
Add to Shopping Cart 9788073087098
18 Currently In Stock PAPERBACK $15.00 4/1/2017

Videology 2

Litteraria Pragensia Books

Literary Nonfiction. Film. Art. VIDEOLOGY 2 continues Louis Armand's broad-ranging critique of realism in film, visual arts and literature. From Nam June Paik's experimental TV to the militant cinema of Pontecorvo, Fassbinder and Godard; from Karel ...

Learn More...

 
Sign up for SPD e-newsletters