SPD is proud to announce that poet Lisa Robertson is the recipient of the 2017 annual $40,000 C.D. Wright Award for Poetry from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, from a $ 1 million endowment gift from artists Ellsworth Kelly (1923-2015) and Jack Shear. The award will be made each year to a poet over the age of 50 whose work exemplifies Wright's vibrant lyricism, seriousness, and striking originality.

Poets Tonya Foster and Peter Gizzi, the 2018 poetry advisors to FCA's selection process, noted, "[Robertson's] poems are compelling reads and never stint on intellection. They please as they muse and weave various affective philosophical speech acts."

Debbie: An Epic

(New Star Books, 1997)
By Lisa Robertson


(New Star Books, 1999)
By Lisa Robertson

The Weather

(New Star Books, 2001)
By Lisa Robertson

The Apothecary

(BookThug, 2006)
By Lisa Robertson

The Men

(BookThug, 2006)
By Lisa Robertson

Nilling: Prose

(BookThug, 2012)
By Lisa Robertson

The Orbit of Known Objects

(Sixteen Rivers Press, 2015)
By Lisa Erin Robertson

Founded in 1963 by artists Jasper Johns and John Cage, the Foundation of Contemporary Arts' mission is to "encourage, sponsor, and promote innovative work in the arts" through its seven annual grant programs for individuals, groups, and organizations.

 More about the C.D. Wright Award for Poetry here





Sign up for SPD e-newsletters