MENU

 
NEW REVIEW HIGHLIGHTS!!

SPD is proud to celebrate recent titles that have drawn critical praise & attention! We've gathered some of our favorite recent review highlights and will compile that buzz for you here regularly. 

Publishers & authors: if you've got a new review you'd like considered for our highlights, please send it to publicity@spdbooks.org.

Doomstead Days

(Nightboat Books, 2019)
By Brian Teare
 
from The New York Times | April 26, 2019
 

 

(Barrow Street Press, 2019)
By Sally Ball 

from The New York Times | April 26, 2019

Materia Prima
(Ugly Duckling Presse, 2019)
By Amanda Berenguer

from Asymptote | April 18, 2019
"Well-curated and featuring a cadre of excellent translators, Materia Prima pulls off what most ‘selected works' rarely even bother to try....Every collection should shoot this high." -Garrett Phelps
 

Baby, I Don't Care
(Wave Books, 2018)
By Chelsey Minnis 

 
from The New York Times | April 15, 2019 

Little Million Doors
(Nightboat Books, 2019)
By Chad Sweeney 

from Publishers Weekly | April 15, 2019
"Poet and translator Sweeney...masters the art of understatement in this book of forthright and delicate poems."

 

Pulver Maar
(Black Ocean, 2019)
By Zachary Schomburg 

from Publishers Weekly | April 15, 2019
"Schomburg is a comedic king, his work, a rabbit hole of innovative, whimsical darkness."

Crosslight for Youngbird
(Nightboat Books, 2018)
By Asiya Wadud

from The Brooklyn Rail | April, 2019
"Wadud, in rooting her debut collection in a hybrid form that employs ekphrasis, reportage, sermon, conversation, translation and redaction, lyric essay and lineated verse, understands that one way to embody the porosity of borders is to re-inscribe the border of the body-its limits, its demands, its interrogations, its own liminal slipperiness-to show how we take up space; how we take it in." -Chris Campanioni 

Kith
(Fence Books / Book*hug, 2017)
By Divya Victor
 
(Kenning Editions, 2018) 
by Miyó Vestrini, tr. Anne Boyer and Cassandra Gillig
 
from Frieze | March 28, 2019
 
 
 
(Ugly Duckling Presse, 2019) 
by Ed Steck
 

 

The Switch
(Wonder, 2019)
By Shiv Kotecha 
 
 

 

Invasive species
(Nightboat Books, 2019)
by Marwa Helal

from The New York Times | March 20, 2019
"Helal's first and often stellar book belongs to many categories, and to none." --Stephanie Burt 

 

Livingry
(Nightboat Books, 2018)
by Gracie Leavitt
 
 

Total Recall
(Krupskaya, 2019)
By Samantha Giles 

from Yes Poetry | March 12, 2019
"Total Recall builds a structure of clouded memories, spells, and artifacts, strung together in a masterful sequence of alternating certainty and doubt." - Angelo Colavita

  
Giving Godhead
(Delete Press, 2017)
By Dylan Krieger  

from Entropy | March 11, 2019
"...a scathing takedown of organized religion and American evangelicalism" --Jacob Schepers

 

from Lit Hub | March 7, 2019
Sign up for SPD e-newsletters