MENU

NEW REVIEW HIGHLIGHTS!!

 

SPD is proud to celebrate recent titles that have drawn critical praise & attention! We've gathered some of our favorite recent review highlights and will compile that buzz for you here regularly.  
Publishers & authors: if you've got a new review you'd like considered for our highlights, please send it to publicity@spdbooks.org!

The Breathing Body Of This Thought (Black Square Editions, 2019) By Genya Turovskaya
(Black Square Editions, 2019)
By Genya Turovskaya

from Publisher's Weekly | December 20, 2019


The Cupped Field (Able Muse Press, 2019) By Deirdre O'Connor
(Able Muse Press, 2019)
By Deirdre O'Connor

from Publisher's Weekly | December 20, 2019
"Readers will need to quiet themselves as they lean into the hushed subtlety of O’Connor's formally precise second collection... Readers will find a poet who masterfully serves the elegiac mode she favors."
(Solid Objects, 2019)
By Renee Gladman

from Librairie Drawn & Quarterly | December 13, 2019
Grenade in Mouth: Some Poems of Miyo Vestrini (Kenning Editions, 2019) By Miyo Vestrini, Faride Mereb (Ed.), Anne Boyer (Trans.), Cassandra Gillig (Trans.)
(Kenning Editions, 2019)
By Miyo Vestrini, Faride Mereb (Ed.), Anne Boyer (Trans.), Cassandra Gillig (Trans.)

from Chicago Review of Books | December 11, 2019
Me & Other Writing (Dorothy, a publishing project, 2019) By Marguerite Duras, Olivia Baes (Trans.), Emma Ramadan (Trans.)
(Dorothy, a publishing project, 2019)
By Marguerite Duras

from Chicago Review of Books | December 11, 2019
".. many of us are already fans of the kind of autofiction that Duras helped popularize, but despite that I was unprepared for how deeply affecting a reading experience Me & Other Writing would be. Duras is not for an age, as they say, but for all time, and the pieces collected lovingly and thoughtfully into this volume will stay with me forever."-Kyle Williams

from Los Angeles Review of Books | December 11, 2019
"For Duras as for Didion, writing about the self is a way of addressing one possible subject among many others... in essence, writing was Duras's life. This preoccupation may seem self-centered, but surely, if one spends so much time alone, engaged in a necessarily solitary process, one must become one's own constant companion."-Katie Da Cunha Lewin

Before I Was a Critic I Was a Human Being (Book*hug, 2019) By Amy Fung
(Book*hug, 2019)
from Librairie Drawn & Quarterly | December 6, 2019
Your Healing is Killing Me (Plays Inverse Press, 2017) By Virginia Grise
(Plays Inverse Press, 2017)
By Virginia Grise

from NBC News | December 11, 2019
Hope Matters (Book*hug, 2019) By Columpa Bobb, Tania Carter, Lee Maracle
(Book*hug, 2019)
By Columpa Bobb, Tania Carter, Lee Maracle

from CBC's "Books of the Year" | December 10, 2019
 Re-Origin of Species (Book*hug, 2019) By Alessandra Naccarato
(Book*hug, 2019)
By Alessandra Naccarato

from CBC's "Books of the Year" | December 10, 2019
 War/Torn Book*hug By Hasan Namir
(Book*hug, 2019)
By Hasan Namir

from CBC's "Books of the Year" | December 10, 2019

while they sleep (under the bed is another country) (Birds, LLC, 2019) By Raquel Salas Rivera
(Birds, LLC, 2019)
By Raquel Salas Rivera

from Remezcla | December 10, 2019
The Faerie Devouring (Book*hug, 2018) By Catherine Lalonde, Oana Avasilichioaei (Trans.)
(Book*hug, 2018)
By Catherine Lalonde, Oana Avasilichioaei (Trans.)

from Event Magazine | December 9, 2019

Last of Her Name (Kaya Press, 2019) By Mimi Lok
(Kaya Press, 2019)
By Mimi Lok

from Los Angeles Review of Books | December 8, 2019
Flung Throne (Ahsahta Press, 2018) By Cody-Rose Clevidence
(Ahsahta Press, 2018)
By Cody-Rose Clevidence

from Rhino Poetry | December 6, 2019
Factory Girls (Action Books, 2019) By Takako Arai
(Action Books, 2019)
By Takako Arai

from Rhino Poetry | December 6, 2019
Little Blue Encyclopedia (for Vivian) (Metonymy Press, 2019) By Hazel Jane Plante
(Metonymy Press, 2019)
By Hazel Jane Plante

from The Star | December 5, 2019
Wild Milk (Dorothy, a publishing project, 2018) By Sabrina Orah Mark
(Dorothy, a publishing project, 2018)
By Sabrina Orah Mark

from Lit Hub | December 4, 2019
Mannequin in the Nude (PANK Books, 2019) Logan February
(PANK Books, 2019)
Logan February

from Chicago Review of Books | December 4, 2019
Invasive Species (Nightboat Books, 2019) By Marwa Helal
(Nightboat Books, 2019)
By Marwa Helal

from The Millions | December 4, 2019

Quarrels (Anvil Press, 2018) By Eve Joseph
(Anvil Press, 2018)
By Eve Joseph

from The Millions | December 4, 2019
Doomstead Days (Nightboat Books, 2019) By Brian Teare
(Nightboat Books, 2019)
By Brian Teare

from Full Stop | December 2, 2019
Is God Is (Soho Rep Special Edition) (3 Hole Press, 2018) By Aleshea Harris
(3 Hole Press, 2018)
By Aleshea Harris

from Los Angeles Times | November 29, 2019
from The Brooklyn Rail | November 1, 2019
Masterworks and Other Stories (Instar Books, 2019) By Simon Jacobs
(Instar Books, 2019)
By Simon Jacobs

from Vol. 1 Brooklyn | November 26, 2019
The Nothing That Is: Essays on Art, Literature and Being (Book*hug, 2019) By Johanna Skibsrud
(Book*hug, 2019)
from The Woven Tale Press | November 12, 2019
Year By Year Poems (Tender Buttons Press, 2019) By Lynne Sachs
(Tender Buttons Press, 2019)
By Lynne Sachs

from Fonts In Use | November 26, 2019
"Typeset in 'Study' with headings in 'Freight Sans,' the poems are presented adjacent to handwritten journal pages, emphasizing the relationship between content and form. The author's eccentrically-lettered dates are isolated and collected on the book's cover to create a cacophony of numbers that reflects the movement of time. With one poem for each year from 1961 to 2011, the collection began as a half-century marker in Sachs' life, reflecting on history and memory."

The Taiga Syndrome (Dorothy, a publishing project, 2018) By Cristina Rivera Garza
(Dorothy, a publishing project, 2018)
By Cristina Rivera Garza

from The Irish Times | November 23, 2019
Moon: Letters, Maps, Poems (Tarpaulin Sky Press, 2018) By Jennifer S. Cheng 
(Tarpaulin Sky Press, 2018)
By Jennifer S. Cheng

from LitHub | November 20, 2019
"I am not someone who shouts her words directly into the daylight; I never had that sense of legitimacy, and often I remain silent, unvoiced. I am not even someone who always knows what she is trying, or needing, to say. What I can do is seek permission in the form of a safe container and then push at the boundaries; I can borrow a mouth and then spin its breath... "-Jennifer S. Cheng

...and Other Disasters (Mason Jar Press, 2019) By Malka Older
(Mason Jar Press, 2019)
By Malka Older

from Publisher's Weekly | November 21, 2019
from Foreword Reviews | November 16, 2019
Deathwish (Newest York Arts Press, 2019) By Ben Fama
(Newest York Arts Press, 2019)
By Ben Fama

from Guernica | November 15, 2019
Evidence of V: A Novel in Fragments, Facts, and Fictions Sheila O'Connor Rose Metal Press 2019
(Rose Metal Press, 2019)
By Sheila O'Connor

from Publisher's Weekly | November 15, 2019
"V's harrowing tale highlights the stark reality of an all-too-recent past where victims of sexual abuse were scapegoated for their perpetrator's crimes. O'Connor's engrossing, powerful narrative will appeal to those who enjoy the work of Amy Bloom."

Tell Me, Kenyalang (Circumference Books, 2019) By Kulleh Grasi, Trans. by  Pauline Fan
(Circumference Books, 2019)
By Kulleh Grasi, Trans. by  Pauline Fan

from Poetry Society of America | November 12, 2019
Taxonomic Drift (Luna Bisonte Prods, 2019) By Mark Young
(Luna Bisonte Prods, 2019)
By Mark Young

from Full Stop | November 12, 2019

War/Torn (Book*hug, 2019) By Hasan Namir
(Book*hug, 2019)
By Hasan Namir

from Plenitude Magazine | November 10, 2019
Graffiti (Aunt Lute Books, 2019) By Pallavi Dhawan, Devi S. Laskar, & Tamika Thompson, Eds.
(Aunt Lute Books, 2019)
By Pallavi Dhawan, Devi S. Laskar, & Tamika Thompson, Eds.

excerpt in Longreads | November 7, 2019

Careen (Noemi Press, 2019) By Grace Shuyi Liew
(Noemi Press, 2019)
By Grace Shuyi Liew

from Aster(ix) Journal | November 7, 2019

A Princess Magic Presto Spell: Parts 1-9 (Flood Editions, 2019) By Lisa Jarnot
(Flood Editions, 2019)
By Lisa Jarnot

from Public Books | November 6, 2019 

the Internet is for real (C&R Press, 2019) By Chris Campanioni
(C&R Press, 2019)
By Chris Campanioni

from Harvard Review Online | November 5, 2019
A Space Between (Bordighera Press, 2019) By Anna Citrino
(Bordighera Press, 2019)
By Anna Citrino

from Ovunque Siamo | November 2, 2019

Gestures Ugly Duckling Presse By Jayde Will (Translator), Artis Ostups
(Ugly Duckling Presse, 2018)
By Artis Ostups, tr. Jayde Will

from Tupelo Quarterly | November 1, 2019
Sign up for SPD e-newsletters