MENU

NEW REVIEW HIGHLIGHTS!!

 

SPD is proud to celebrate recent titles that have drawn critical praise & attention! We've gathered some of our favorite recent review highlights and will compile that buzz for you here regularly.  Publishers & authors: if you've got a new review you'd like considered for our highlights, please send it to publicity@spdbooks.org!
 
__________________

Anonymous Landscape by Yuko Otomo | Lithic Press, 2019
Anonymous Landscape by Yuko Otomo | Lithic Press, 2019
"Names are persistent. Ultimately, there’s no getting away from them. But while exploring the ontological landscape of anonymity, Otomo concludes that, however necessary for survival, names can never exhaust the fantastic multifariousness of being."
-
Kit Robinson

Open Space | March 26, 2020
__________________

New Sutras By Suzanne Stein I Dog Park Collective, 2019
New Sutras By Suzanne Stein I Dog Park Collective, 2019
"The book is assembled in inverted time.  The junctures and pivots are subtle.  There is a sense one is looking through a telescope and a microscope simultaneously. "
-Heather Sweeney

periodicities | April 2, 2020
 __________________

The Fabulous Dead by Andriana Minou I KERNPUNKT Press, 2020
The Fabulous Dead by Andriana Minou I KERNPUNKT Press, 2020
"In this collection of twenty-five short stories, Minou opens up questions of identity and the self, the human condition, and deconstructs history and historical figures as we previously understood them."
-
Christina Ghent

Heavy Feather Review |March 24, 2020

__________________

Me & Other Writing By Marguerite Duras | Dorothy, a publishing project
Me & Other Writing By Marguerite Duras | Dorothy, a publishing project
"While Duras is most known for her fiction novels—The Lover, which is part fiction and autobiography, is one of her most-read works—Duras’s nonfiction essays give the reader a more introspective experience."
-Christian Allaire

Vogue | April 12, 2020

__________________

Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman by Bob Kaufman | City Lights, 2019
Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman by Bob Kaufman | City Lights, 2019
"These poems pay tribute to Ray Charles and Allen Ginsberg and Charlie Parker while also painting a melodic and kaleidoscopic portrait of the American nightmare. They contain a nostalgic melancholy, a hallucinogenic fervor, and a tortured indignation that reflect the chaos and beauty of our country in all its contradictions." 
-Christopher Luna


Rain Taxi | Spring 2020
__________________

Utopia Pipe Dream Memory by Anna Gurton-Wachter | Ugly Duckling Presse, 2019
Utopia Pipe Dream Memory byAnna Gurton-Wachter | Ugly Duckling Presse, 2019
"Gurton-Wachter’s stunning lines ring as elastic rhythms, building compressed prose paragraphs that serve well the conceptual core of this book: a message urging each of us to heed collective dreaming and collaborative thinking. This unforgettable collection achieves a recursive complexity that invites multiple, ever more layered readings."
-Isabel Sobral Campos


Rain Taxi | Spring 2020



__________________

Hezada! I Miss You by Erin Pringle | Awst Press, 2020
Hezada! I Miss You by Erin Pringle | Awst Press, 2020
"Pringle’s novel fearlessly tackles what it means to see tradition passed over for our breakneck 21st century, social-media-driven present."
-Michael Seidlinger

Publishers Weekly | April 10, 2020
__________________

Fifty Thousand Dollars by Andrew James Weatherhead | Publishing Genius Press, 2020
Fifty Thousand Dollars by Andrew James Weatherhead  Publishing Genius Press, 2020
"The use of white space creates a rhythm to each pondered line, allowing Weatherhead to deftly bob and weave between topics long enough for the sum of the poem’s effect to hit like a knockout blow."
-
Michael Seidlinger

Publishers Weekly | April 10, 2020
__________________

Ceremonials by Katharine Coldiron | KERNPUNKT Press, 2019
 Ceremonials by Katharine Coldiron  KERNPUNKT Press, 2019 "Inspired by the Florence + the Machine’s album of the same name, Coldiron weaves together a twelve-part novella about two girls, Amelia and Corisande, falling in love while at boarding school."
-Michael Seidlinger

Publishers Weekly | April 10, 2020
__________________
DMZ Colony By Don Mee Choi  | Wave Books, 2020
DMZ Colony By Don Mee Choi Wave Books, 2020
"The latest collection from Don Mee Choi, deemed a sister book to Hardly War, combines the personal and the political exploring Edward Said’s notion of “the intertwined and overlapping histories" concerning to South Korea and the United States."
-Michael Seidlinger

Publishers Weekly | April 10, 2020
__________________

Time by Etel Adnan, Sarah Riggs (Translator) | Nightboat Books, 2019
Time by Etel Adnan, Sarah Riggs (Translator) Nightboat Books, 2019
"In these pockets between words she allows her reader to float among, and observe from a distance, the landscape of elements she has collated. While poetry often dislocates and situates the reader in an alternate temporality by offering space on the page, Adnan takes it a step further by folding in references to antiquity and the contemporary, fusing places, and conceptually blending the human and natural worlds."
-Emma Gomis

Asymptote Journal | Janurary, 2020
__________________

 EDIE ON THE GREENSCREEN By Beth Lisick | 7.13 Books, 2020 
EDIE ON THE GREENSCREEN By Beth Lisick 7.13 Books, 2020
" Lisick captures some of how tech money has changed formerly sleepy suburbs and writes about the nuances of female friendship with a razor-sharp focus."
-
Wendy J. Fox

Buzzfeed |April 20,2020
__________________
Many Restless Concerns: The Victims of Countess Bathory Speak in Chorus By Gayle Brandeis  | Black Lawrence Press, 2020
Many Restless Concerns: The Victims of Countess Bathory Speak in Chorus By Gayle Brandeis Black Lawrence Press, 2020
"While the voices are fictionalized, Gayle Brandeis draws on what is known about the terror of the era, and this book offers a historical context to contemporary violence against women."

-Wendy J. Fox

Buzzfeed|
April 20,2020
__________________
We Were Called Specimens: an oral archive of deity By Marjorie By Jason Teal | KERNPUNKT Press, 2020
We Were Called Specimens: an oral archive of deity Marjorie By Jason Teal KERNPUNKT Press, 2020
"What makes debut writer Jason Teal's collection of speculative fiction work is the punchy writing that never veers too far from our own reality."
-Wendy J. Fox

Buzzfeed|
April 20,2020
__________________
Spawn By Marie-Andree Gill, Kristen Renee Miller (Translator) | Book*hug, 2020
Spawn By Marie-Andree Gill, Kristen Renee Miller (Translator)  Book*hug, 2020 "...these short, untitled poems evoke their setting, the Mashteuiatsh Reserve (the life cycle of the ouananiche tribe serves as a motif throughout the collection), investigating colonial impact while weaving elements of resilience and chance..."

Publishers Weekly |
April 15, 2020
__________________
Scorpio by Katy Bohinc | Miami University Press, 2018
        Scorpio by Katy Bohinc Miami University Press, 2018
"Maybe personal poetry isn’t about inherently personal revelations, though. Maybe it’s just an insight into how we all feel the same things, how we all got there differently. If all roads lead to the same destination, what’s interesting is the road itself."
-
John Spiegel

Fence Digital |
April 3, 2020
__________________
The Alley of Fireflies and Other Stories Raymond Roussel, Mark Ford (Translator) | The Song Cave, 2019
The Alley of Fireflies Raymond Roussel Mark Ford (Translator) The Song Cave, 2019
 "The text of The Alley of Fireflies is full of the fantastical science and faux antiquarianism typical of Roussel’s ludic style. It also includes an elaborate description of the use of aleatory methods for determining the outcome of a game, which anticipates the use of chance procedures by John Cage in music and Merce Cunningham in dance 20 years later."
-
Simon Collings

Litter Magazine
| April 30, 2020


Sign up for SPD e-newsletters