MENU

NEW REVIEW HIGHLIGHTS!!

 

SPD is proud to celebrate recent titles that have drawn critical praise & attention! We've gathered some of our favorite recent review highlights and will compile that buzz for you here regularly.  Publishers & authors: if you've got a new review you'd like considered for our highlights, please send it to publicity@spdbooks.org!
 
__________________

The Problem of the Many By Timothy Donnelly | Wave Books, 2019
The Problem of the Many By Timothy Donnelly | Wave Books, 2019
"For Donnelly, our favorite modern tools—science, economics—are no more able to define a human than they are to define a cloud."
-Tadhg Larabee


Harvard Review Online| May 15, 2020

__________________

 Paper Bells Phan Nhien Hao Hai-Dang Phan (Translator) I Song Cave, 2020
 Paper Bells Phan Nhien Hao Hai-Dang Phan (Translator) I Song Cave, 2020
"Though dismal, the book is not a morass of challenge. Tension is alleviated; still, there is the rain. The rain that cleanses is also the rain that keeps us inside, keeps us at rest, keeps us centered to where our minds can transport through memory and commitment to our former selves, situations, and locations. And remain stable, fervent, integral."
-
Greg Bem

North of Oxford
I May 2, 2020
 __________________

Artificial Gut Feeling By Anna Zett l Divided Publishing Ltd, 2019
Artificial Gut Feeling By Anna Zett I  Divided Publishing Ltd, 2019
"Communication encompasses more than language, more than symbolic meaning, more than ideology or history. Our non-verbal selves can be frightening to think about, so if that’s a fear you’re inclined to pursue, follow Anna Zett’s lead."
-
Eric Aldrich

Full Stop I May 14, 2020

__________________

How the Water Holds Me By Tariq Luthun | Bull City Press, 2020
How the Water Holds Me By Tariq Luthun | Bull City Press, 2020
"Luthun, one of the finest Palestinian poets of the diaspora, keeps the cause of Palestine alive in his first chapbook, How the Water Holds Me. In his lyrical, rhythmic verse, I recognize the original waves of loss, shock, yearning, and love that swept into our diasporic Palestinian families in 1948, and how those waves return with each new generation."
-
Layla Azmi Goushey

Jadaliyya | June 11, 2020

__________________

DMZ Colony by Don Mee Choi | Wave Books, 2020
DMZ Colony by Don Mee Choi | Wave Books, 2020
"How can we access others’ pain? How can language empower us? What forms of art exist at the edge of language?
-
John Wall Berger

Rain Taxi | Summer 2020
__________________

God's Green Earth By Noelle Kocot | Wave Books, 2020
God's Green Earth By Noelle Kocot | Wave Books, 2020
"The simple house, the temple, has been relinquished in favour of the company of friends. Here, Kocot’s speaker has walked out into the open air, and we leave them looking at the grass."
-Stephanie Sy-Quia

The White Review | June 2020



__________________

all that beauty By Fred Moten | Letter Machine Editions, 2019
all that beauty By Fred Moten | Letter Machine Editions, 2019

"Fred Moten creates a kind of communitarian poetics, citing lists of others whose presences come to bear on poems that merge qualities of philosophy, free jazz, art criticism, political critique (focused on racism and social constructions of the self) and joyous sonic elán.
-Forrest Gander

New York Times | June 11, 2020

__________________

Lake of Urine: A Love Story Guillermo Stitch | Sagging Meniscus Press, 2020
Lake of Urine: A Love Story Guillermo Stitch | Sagging Meniscus Press, 2020
"This book is totally Wacker-doodle-dandy to the max!  I love a good absurd novel and this is a mighty fine addition to the genre."
-

Gnome Appreciation Society | June 15, 2020
__________________

What Fox Knew By Mary Barnes | At Bay Press, 2019
 What Fox Knew By Mary Barnes At Bay Press, 2019 "A beautifully designed book housing a strong set of sometimes-furious, sometimes-shy poems, What Fox Knew is a well-rounded debut collection. "
-Jonathan Ball

Winnipeg Free Press | May 23, 2020
__________________
The Dark Heart of Every Wild Thing By Joseph Fasano | Platypus Press, 2020
The Dark Heart of Every Wild Thing By Joseph Fasano Platypus Press, 2020
" The encounter between this determined human and his equally imposing animal adversary is as profoundly psychological as it is intensely physical."


Kirkus Reviews | June 26, 2020
__________________

Defacing the Monument By Susan Briante | Noemi Press, 2020
Defacing the Monument By Susan Briante Noemi Press, 2020
"Incorporating images of official documents from the hearing and other government texts throughout, Briante meditates on the tensions between the words document and documentary."


Publishers Weekly | June 15, 2020
__________________

Code By Charlotte Pence | Black Lawrence Press, 2020 
Code By Charlotte Pence  Black Lawrence Press, 2020
"The almost-documentary, matter-of-fact approach of sharing a friend’s poems began summoning my own grief, and elided into the realm of poetry that is interested in the universal and the transpersonal."
-
Edward Derby

The Rumpus | June 26,2020
__________________
The Shore By Chris Nealon | Wave Books, 2020 
The Shore By Chris Nealon A.C. Wave Books, 2020
"That is the gift of this book: its commitment, tenderly and fiercely, to joyfulness, to beauty, while looking clear-eyed at our terrors, the ones we humans experience and the ones we perpetrate."
- Allison Cobb

Lambda Literary |
May 29,2020
__________________

Sign up for SPD e-newsletters