MENU

NEW REVIEW HIGHLIGHTS!!

 

SPD is proud to celebrate recent titles that have drawn critical praise & attention! We've gathered some of our favorite recent review highlights and will compile that buzz for you here regularly.  Publishers & authors: if you've got a new review you'd like considered for our highlights, please send it to publicity@spdbooks.org!
 
__________________

SIR By Kenyatta A.C. Hinkle | Litmus Press, 2019
SIR By Kenyatta A.C. Hinkle | Litmus Press, 2019
"SIR’s pages teach us about the tenderness of Black families. Hinkle attends to the complex, imperfect yet fierce love between grandmother, mother, son, sisters and brother. She writes of historical terror but also of timeless love. There is love in the letters she writes to Sir and in the record she assembles in his name, a love that is full of possibility."

-
Jen Everett

Strange Fire | July 1, 2020

__________________

 Survivor's Guilt: Essays on Race and American Identity By Artress Bethany White I New Rivers Press, 2020
 Survivor's Guilt: Essays on Race and American Identity By Artress Bethany White I New Rivers Press, 2020
"Survivor’s Guilt features vivid, incisive writing that is at once sensitive and bold, as befits a poet who won the 2018 Trio Award and has twice been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Moreover, White incorporates literary and cultural criticism into her essays, providing insightful readings of Layli Long Soldier, Ousmane Sembène, and Ocean Vuong, to name only a few."

-Laura Dennis


Mom Egg Review
| July 2, 2020
 __________________

Sister Love: The Letters of Audre Lorde and Pat Parker 1974-1989 By Audre Lorde, Pat Parker, and Julie R Enszer (Ed.) | A Midsummer Night's Press, 2018
Sister Love: The Letters of Audre Lorde and Pat Parker 1974-1989 By Audre Lorde, Pat Parker, and Julie R Enszer (Ed.) I A Midsummer Night's Press, 2018 "I also just finished “Sister Love: The Letters of Audre Lorde and Pat Parker,” which reminded me of all that friendship does, especially this from Lorde to Parker: “Whatever I have/know that is useful to you is yours. Most of all to hear from you when you speak, and believe you when you are silent."

-
Sarah Broom

The New York Times
| July 9, 2020
__________________

Thanksgiving By Ted Rees |  Golias Books, 2020
Thanksgiving By Ted Rees |  Golias Books, 2020
"Incredulous of the poem’s own working vocabulary, Rees evades and critiques lyric transparency at once, addressing nature at a grammatical remove, as an object of management. This is no simplistic pastoral placed atop stolen land, however; Rees troubles this interloper’s optic, writing at the limit of what it is possible for latter-day pilgrims to say given the real constraints of history."

-
Cam Scott

The Poetry Project | Summer 2020

__________________

Savage Pageant by Jessica Q. Stark |  Birds, LLC, 2020
Savage Pageant by Jessica Q. Stark |  Birds, LLC, 2020
"Savage Pageant is a companion for our concurrent entrapment and escape. We can accompany the tapir into extinction, crushed and crushing both by and within the play, the pageant, the show. We can continue our path of exoticization and otherizing, via billboard, cell phone, hashtag, news reel, and meme." 

-
Paul Bonnell

diaCritics | June 17th, 2020
__________________

trans girl suicide machine By hannah baer | Hesse Press, 2019
trans girl suicide machine By hannah baer | Hesse Press, 2019
"Okay, so if not a think piece, maybe this is a feel piece: writing as a mode of processing the edges of gender, naming raw feelings even if the language is a reach."

-Noa/h Fields

anomaly | May 13, 2020



__________________

all that beauty By Fred Moten | Letter Machine Editions, 2019
all that beauty By Fred Moten | Letter Machine Editions, 2019

"Against all our desire to keep a record, to compete with the west’s obsession with telling the story and hoarding its evidence, music and memory are the true archives, what happens to all that beauty depends on how we remember to become and imprint it in sound, which never disappears, is indestructible. Fred spends this collection remembering Black beauty in sound and enshrined shreddings, ensuring its survival in microtone and mumble and yield and spirit dance and fray and fragment and wayment and bent notes and straight lives and straight straying, less striving, more playing."

-Harmony Holiday

Poetry Project  | Summer 2020

__________________

Neighbor By Rachel Levitsky | Ugly Duckling Presse, 2020
Neighbor By Rachel Levitsky | Ugly Duckling Presse, 2020
"Reading Neighbor gave me a lived experience of a less split world. It changed my brain during this time when I need books to do that. Levitsky’s craft is other-level."

- Stacy Szymaszek

Poetry Project | Summer 2020
__________________

Sister Love: The Letters of Audre Lorde and Pat Parker 1974-1989 By Audre Lorde, Pat Parker, and Julie R Enszer (Ed.) | A Midsummer Night's Press, 2018
 Sister Love: The Letters of Audre Lorde and Pat Parker 1974-1989 By Audre Lorde, Pat Parker, and Julie R Enszer (Ed.) | A Midsummer Night's Press, 2018 "In this slim tome, we read the sweet, generous, urgent and sometimes angry letters these two intellectual giants share over 15 years."

-
Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman

lithub |
July 14, 2020
__________________
Requisite By Tanya Holtland | Platypus Press, 2020

"Crafted sparingly, the short poems in Requisite force the reader to confront themselves in the abundant white space, to measure their breathing, and to consider the weight of each word."

-
Susanne Salehi

Gertrude Press |
Spring 2020
__________________

A Wounded Deer Leaps Highest By C P Mangel | Noemi Press, 2020

"Supported by her unswerving vision, artistic sensitivity, and a voracious appetite for reading, Asa’s narrative is filled with inspiration, deep rumination, poetic discourse, and, ultimately, great loss. But there is beauty in the breaking, and those who journey with Mangel’s characters will be made stronger for the reading."

-
Kate Robinson


The US Review of Books | Summer, 2020
__________________

Death Industrial Complex By Candice Wuehle | Action Books, 2020   

"In Wuehle’s brilliant séance-as-poetry-collection, Woodman refuses to fit into the ready-made role of the tragic artist, or the artist too pure and delicate for this world."

-
James Pate


Tarpaulin Sky Press | July 1, 2020
__________________
The Visable Planets By Aly Pierce | Game Over Books, 2020 

"Moons mourn their positions as the “occasional lover” or a number in a line of many who serve the same purpose. Jupiter is like a ripped bodybuilder who is used to getting what he wants, Neptune lives sadly in her parents’ basement, Mars and Phobos get together despite wanting different things; our dear celestial bodies become reminiscent of trashy high schoolers doing drugs, eating freezer meals, and sneaking around."

- Bethany Mary

Vagabond City |
July 20,2020
__________________
 The Museum of Small Bones By Miho Nonaka | Ashland Poetry Press, 2020
              "The poems, like artifacts or displays in a museum, become launch points for considering an assemblage of observations in the context of an exhibit-in-poem on the production of silk. The silkworm, like those common household items exotified in the museum, is itself the thread of both daily life and our efforts to spin meaning from the accumulation of our days."

-Abigail Chabitnoy

Colorado Review 
| Summer, 2002
__________________
Apostasy By Katy Mongeau | Black Sun Lit, 2020
                "So death opens into the sacred and the possibility of inconceivable meaning; the latter returns to sentience in the form of arresting gratification. Mongeau’s poems traverse this delicate three-fold movement as transcendent value emerges through death, and only then is our materiality validated through pleasure."

-Isabel Sobral Campos

Rain Taxi |
July 30, 2020

__________________
All the Gay Saints By Kayleb Rae Candrilli | Saturnalia Books, 2020
               "The poet defies expectations—and defies a country that often rejects trans and queer people—when they instead choose self-love"

-Despy Boutris

West Re
view | May/June 2020

Sign up for SPD e-newsletters